NSW government abandons remaining council amalgamations

Gladys Berejiklian’s government will leave Sydney with a lopsided patchwork of councils, after abandoning its policy of local government amalgamations halfway through.

The Premier announced on Thursday that her government was walking away from its policy of merging Sydney councils, which have challenged their amalgamation in court.

From SMH’s Jacob Saulwick Jacob Saulwick Date: July 27 2017 – 4:02PM

“There’s no doubt that the court proceedings in relation to local government has provided a degree of uncertainty,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“Our decision today as a government is to provide certainty to the community for the September 9 council elections,” she said.

It affects 14 councils, which had been set to merge into five. The affected councils are: Burwood, Canada Bay and Strathfield; Hornsby and Ku-ring-gai; Hunters Hill, Lane Cove and Ryde; Mosman, North Sydney and Willoughby; and Randwick, Waverley and Woollahra.


One thought on “NSW government abandons remaining council amalgamations

  1. Waikanae watcher says:

    It took until earlier this month for the computer systems of the eight councils that were amalgamated in 2010 to form the Auckland ‘super city’ to be fully integrated – nearly seven years! The amalgamation was very problematic and the subject now looks dead in NZ.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s